Sunday, February 5, 2012

Australian Music Prize - Sydney

Judged by one hundred members of the music industry, the sixth annual Australian Music Prize is a $30,000 award in the vein of the UK's Mercury Music Prize.

Sydney Opera House, Bennelong Point, Sydney
Date: Wednesday, February 08, 2012
The Australian Music Prize judging panel consists of a vast array of personalities drawn from all areas of the music industry, including triple j's Dom Alessio; Red Eye Records' Chris Berkley; The Herald-Sun's Mikey Cahill; The West Australian's Simon Collins; Hoodoo Gurus star Dave Faulkner; The Whitlams' Tim Freedman; singer-songwriter Renee Geyer and The Presets' Julian Hamilton among others.

The shortlist of this year's entrants makes for a tough competition, with nominees like Abbe May (Design Desire); Gotye (Making Mirrors); Kimbra (pictured, Vows); Adalita (Adalita); Boy & Bear (Moonfire); Gurrumul (Rralaka); Jack Ladder & The Dreamlanders (Hurtsville); The Jezabels (Prisoner) and The Middle East (I Want That You Are Always Happy) up for the $30,000 prize.

Legendary Rolling Stone veteran journalist David Fricke will deliver a keynote speech at tonight's ceremony.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.